The Time Line from Abraham to Jesus’ Birth

We began this series by discussing the importance of keeping the Covenant given by our Creator.  To keep the information in some form of time line perspective, we first presented the Time Line from Adam to Noah.  Then we laid out for you the Time Line from Noah to Abraham.  We now continue with the Time Line from Abraham to the birth of Jesus of Nazareth.

2000 BC      Abram, called to go to the land of Canaan,

2094 BC       Ishmael born to Abram and Hagar, conflict with Sarah,

2108 BC       Isaac born of Abraham (Abram) and Sarah (Sari),

2168 BC        Esau and Jacob born, family conflict, Jacob leaves,

2315 BC         Jacob (now Israel) has 12 sons, 1 daughter,

1650 BC         Jacob, his sons join Joseph in Egypt,

1400 BC         Moses born, sent to bring Israel out from Egypt.

1300 BC Israel in the wilderness – Old Testament books of Joshua, Numbers to Chronicles:

                         Moses is given the Law at Mt. Sinai – Sacrifices and Holy Days set,

The Tabernacle is built, Priesthood and offerings established,

Spies sent into Canaan, the people rejected Jehovah’s plan to enter in,

Idolatry with the golden calf, the brazen serpent as a cure,

Covenant with Joshua, Moses dies, Joshua and the people enter the land,

Jericho conquered, The Canaan Land is divided between the 12 tribes,

Israel continues to conquer the Land and their enemies,

The Israelites would sin against God.  Jehovah would allow their enemies to come against them as punishment.  The people would cry out to Him and He would raise up a judge to deliver them from the hands of their enemies.

Judges were given to help establish Israel: Othniel, Ehud.

1200 BC – from the Old Testament books of Judges, Ruth to 1 & 2 Samuel:

Judges continue: Shamgar, Deborah and Barak, Abimelech, Tola, Jar,

Jephthah, Ibzah, (The story of Ruth and Boaz) Abdon, Samson,

Eli, Samuel.  The period of the judges is believed to have lasted about 300 years.

1100 BC – The Kingdom Age begins, 2 Samuel to 1 Kings:

1095 BC      Saul becomes Israel’s first king, David slays Goliah, hides in caves,

Jonathan is killed, Saul is slain in battle.

1055 BC        David becomes king of Israel, The Ark starts the journey to Jerusalem,

Uzzah is killed for touching the Ark, Bathsheba arrives on the scene,

Uriah is killed, David’s judgement by 3 days of plague, 70,000 died, Solomon born.

1015 BC         Solomon becomes king, David dies, Solomon builds Jehovah His temple,

took 700 wives and 300 concubines – which was part of his downfall as he also brought all

their idols and foreign gods into his kingdom as well.

975 BC         Due to leadership problems, the kingdom is divided at Solomon’s death:

     1.  The Northern Kingdom of 10 tribes break away from Judah. 

                                                                         Their kings included:

Jeroboam, 975-953,

Nadab, 953-951,

Baasha, 951-929,

Elah, 929-927,

Zimri, 927,

Breakaway group: Omri, 924-917,

Ahab, 917-895,

Ahaziah, 895-880,

Jehu, 880-851,

Jehoahaz, 851-835,

Joash, 835-818,

Jeroboam II, 817-771,

Zachariah, 771,

Shallum, 771,

Menahem, 771-761,

Pekahiah, 761 – 759,

Pekah, 7-59-739,

Hoshea, 730-721 BC.

915 BC           Elijah conflicts with the prophets of Baal, Jezebel and Ahab,

Elisha, 898-833 continues as Jehovah’s prophet.

The 10 Tribes of Israel go into captivity to Assyria, 2 Kings 17:1-4.

975 BC  

2.  The Southern Kingdom, called Judah – the two tribes of Benjamin and Judah.

Their kings were:

Rehoboam, 975-958, Abijam (Abijah), 958-955, Asa (good), 955-914,

Jehoshaphat (good but compromised) 914-889,

Joram (Jehoram), 889-881,

Ahaziah, 881,

Queen Athaliah, 880-873,

Joash, 873-833,

Amaziah, 833-804,

Azariath (Uzziah), 804-757,

Jotham, 757-724,

Ahaz, 724-727,

Hezekiah (good king but didn’t tear down the idols) 727-698,

Manasseh, 698-643 (The most evil of all the Kings!),

Amos, 643-641,

Josiah (most godly king) 641-610,

Jehoahaz, 609,

Jehoiakim (a wicked king) 609-598,

Jehoiachin, 579,

Zedekiah, 597-587.

Judah was involved in repeated cycles of good kings but “ …. he didn’t tear down the high places…” along with wicked kings who led the people deeper into idolatry and Jehovah’s judgements  —  until finally, in 586-536, Judah goes into captivity to Babylon and the Temple is completely destroyed. 

586 BC        The reign of Nebuchadnezzar, Daniel’s stand and the fiery furnace, the king eats grass,

Daniel’s stay in the lion’s den,

Zerubbabel returns to rebuild the Temple and Jerusalem.

During the captivity, the two kingdoms were re-united as one nation when the Medes and Persians conquered Babylon, allowing the Jews to return to their homeland, Daniel 5:30, Ezra 1:2.

  539 BC     The kings of Israel resume their line,  from the Old Testament books of Ezra to Malachi:

Zechariah, 520-490,

Nehemiah, 445-420,

Malachi, 435-415.

478              Ester becomes Queen, Haman is hanged, the feast of “Purim”,

457              Ezra returns to complete the Temple,

445              Nehemiah returns to build the wall of Jerusalem

400 BC to 0 BC: The Silent Years

As we follow the dates given in the Old Testament, we can see God’s Time Line did not include ‘Millions and Millions of years’.  Our Creator has His own Plan and is up to date with our time line as well.

Susanne Fenlger, Blog Author

Sources used in this study:

Alexander, David & Pat.  The Lion Handbook to the Bible, Lion Publishing Company, NSW, Australia, 1983.

Conner, Kevin J. & Malmin, Ken.  The Covenants Study Guide, Advanced Diploma in Bible Research, Melbourne, Vic. 1989.

Fengler, Daniel & Susan. Advanced Diploma in Bible Research, Correspondence Extension Course on The Covenants, prepared for Life Ministry Bible College, Chirnside Park, Victoria, Australia, 1989.

Wilkinson, Bruce.  Walk Through the Old Testament, Walk Thru the Bible Ministries, Inc.  Vermont, Victoria, Australia, 1979.


Print Friendly


copyright at 8:12 pmmarketing. You can follow any responses to this entry through the RSS 2.0 feed. You can leave a response, or trackback from your own site.

Leave a Comment

CommentLuv badge